I haven’t read as many books as I would have liked this year, but I wasn’t really expecting to fail my maths exam last June, and have this many distractions. And so, as I sadly gazed at my TBR list, I thought of all the books I have read so far, and which ones were great and deserve recognition and which ones deserve to be thrown at a wall repeatedly.

January:

It was my birthday in January, meaning I got a few new books, usually, I don’t drop my current read for a new one, but I got the Greatest Cases Of Sherlock Holmes and whatever I was in the middle of reading, was thrown to the side until I finished Sherlock. Because Sherlock is a priority. I find it really refreshing to be able to read the cases for myself, and have ones that didn’t become episodes or movies. The penguin covers are also the prettiest things I have ever set my eyes upon.

Screenshot_2017-06-16-14-11-58_1

I also started reading Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven, because I loved All The Bright Places and thought her new stuff would be just as emotive and great, and I was correct. I love how she takes characters that would never meet and gives them more than a conversation. In some way, she rewrites their lives and it is just so powerful, that despite it being YA I love it and could read her work forever.

February:

I finished reading The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins and contrary to popular belief, the movie was shit. This book is a prime example that some books need to stay books. I originally had no intention of watching the movie, but someone said that it was really good. We are no longer friends. The book was intense, and there were so many moments I was convinced I had cracked the plot, and then another piece of information gets thrown at you, that makes your theory sound ridiculous.

March:

 

I got a little Disney obsessed in March, because of the release of Beauty and the Beast. Saying that, I bought the BATB book and decided to read it, because I had only ever seen the movies, and I am so glad I did. Not only is the cover the prettiest colour of red ever, but the story was so refreshing to read and have in front of me.

Screenshot (16).png

Sticking to the Disney theme, I also read Peter Pan by J.M Barrie Which was the first time I had read it since I was 8. My Uncle bought me Peter pan for my 8th Birthday, and it was my favourite disney movie as a child, so I would read the book every day, and take it to school with me and read it in class when I was excused from social events and class combining activities.

April:

I always try to read the book before I buy it to avoid spending money on books I will probably never read, so I make the long trek all the way to the library and find books that are on my TBR list.

First up, I found Dark Places  by Gillian Flynn, and since I loved Gone Girl so so much, I assumed I would like her other work too, but this book just kind of disappointed me. I couldn’t place it. It might have been the writing style, or the movie but something in the book did not sit well with me. I was also disappointed when I correctly guessed who the murderer was by the end of chapter three, because I had to wait until the end to celebrate with my misery.

May:

It was exam season, so the only book I read was my Maths textbook.

June:

Quite a few books I have read this month, were the books I bought in May, but some I found in the library, when I was supposed to be revising but instead wandered and looked at the books instead.

Into the water by Paula Hawkins was my first purchase of May, but I had to put it on hold, so Once I started reading it, it took me a while to get used to. There are many points of view in the book, so the narrative is always changing, and I personally struggle to keep up with who is who. The concept of the book, was enjoyable. Any thriller or dark themed book is enjoyable to me, and I did like the story, I just wouldn’t label it my favourite of the year.

Screenshot (276).png

YOU by Caroline Kepnes was suggested to me by a friend, who knew of my love for thrillers. I was promised a mixture of gone girl, with the excitement and depth of Girl on the train, and after finishing the book, I was left feeling a little underwhelmed by the ending. There is no denying the creepiness of the main character, I mean he stalked a girl he had a two second encounter with, and murdered people for no justifiable reason. I’m unsure whether the narrative was supposed to be angsty, because the description was of a teenage boy in love with an elder woman, so the language would be of expected, but it came across as though the author had an issue with many other authors and had many uncomfortable female encounters and so one day decided to create a diss book. The final chapter caused me to actually throw my book at the wall, because it ends on a cliff hanger, and I don’t really know whether I want to read the second book or not.

On a brighter note, I reread Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s stone, because I got the House Editions in Celebration of the 20th Anniversary. I love it, and it is by far my favourite series ever, movies and such. I have nothing but admiration for J.K Rowling, whether that be the way she holds herself and her beliefs or her story writing. Harry potter is such a classic, and cannot be dismissed based on how many times I’ve read it before. The chess match, The Dursley’s and just the beginning of Harry’s life never fails to amaze me, and I am endlessly jealous of never being cast in the movies or being able to write it before J.K Rowling did.

 

Leave a Reply

